Scott Williams, Newseum President, Presented AAF DC’s 2018 Silver Medal Award

October 29, 2018

AAF DC, the country’s leading chapter of the American Advertising Federation (AAF), presented the prestigious 2018 Silver Medal Award to Scott Williams, president of the Newseum. The award presentation took place on October 18 during Advertising Week DC.  

According to AAF DC:
“Williams joined the D.C. market six years ago from Memphis, TN, where he worked for 12 years at Elvis Presley Enterprises. His dedication to the marketing/communications industry has led him to the local AAF chapter boards, first in Memphis, and then in Washington, D.C.. However, he has also served on the Historical Society Board in Washington, D.C., thereby marrying his leadership skills with his passion for history.

“He spent his six years in Washington, D.C., serving on the board of AAF DC, where he elected President in 2016. He brought with him from his home state of Tennessee the hallmarks of an industry leader: a commitment to fostering relationships both within his organization and within the creative industry of the Washington, D.C., area.

“Scott has had the vision and understanding of how we must all change and evolve in order to remain relevant. In his long career as a marketing professional, he has continually shown how his dedication to the marketing mission at hand has led to numerous successes, including the Newseum’s mission of promoting and supporting our First Amendment Rights and how that impacts us all citizens.

“He regularly speaks on topics such as Fake News in order to champion the responsibility of marketing professionals to do their part in order to provide the right marketing messages. He has led the Newseum in panel discussions at large scale events, such as SXSW on topics relevant to the mission of the Newseum, promoting tourism in Washington, D.C., as well as new technology such as virtual reality and how that can be utilized in a meaningful way for consumers.

“Scott is also an accomplished author, having written 2 books – both in the historical biography genre. His latest book, An Odd Book, provided him the opportunity to not only manage his own book tour, but to also promote a successful launch on social media.”

This fall, Williams will be relocating to Union City, TN, as the newly named president and CEO of Discovery Parks of America.

The AAF Silver Medal Award was established in 1959 to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to advertising and who have been active in furthering the industry’s standards, creative excellence and responsibility in areas of social concern. Annually, the AAF’s Ad Clubs bestow this honor upon outstanding members of the local advertising community. The award serves to enhance the image of advertising by recognizing a locally well-known person for his or her advertising and community involvement.

AAF DC awards the Silver Medal each year during the annual Advertising Week DC Conference. For more information,

Past recipients of the Silver Medal Award include Karen Zuckerman of HZDG, Martha Boudreau of AARP; Paul Duning of Capitol Communicator; David Hunke, then of USA TODAY; Cary Hatch of MDB Communications; Mike August of August, Lang & Husak; Doug Laughlin, then of LMO Advertising; Alan Weitzman of Weitzman; Robert Whittle of Williams Whittle; Donald Graham, then of The Washington Post; Michael Jack, then of NBC4; Alex Orfinger, then of Washington Business Journal; Ted Leonsis, then of AOL; and Robert Johnson of BET.

This post originally appeared on Capitol Communicator, October 23, 2018. 

May 30, 2019
Ad 2 DC's Career Workshop
June 26, 2019
Ad Connect at Heurich House + HOMEBREWED...
Company: ICF
Interactive Designer
Post date: May 21, 2019
Company: Grafik
Senior UX Designer
Post date: May 21, 2019
Company: FiscalNote
Advertising Strategist
Post date: May 20, 2019

Share Your Opinion

Which chapter of the American Advertising Federation is the fairest of them all?
Why, the DC Chapter, of course!
New York always wins these things
Baltimore gets points for trying
Total votes: 81